Tanya Burr’s Milk and White Chocolate Cookies

Hey! So I’d like to add baking into my blog as I honestly love food so much; but obviously as I’m only 13 I can’t make my own recipes or anything like that. So today I thought I’d share with you one of my favourite recipes, and my opinions as then you can bake these in future! As I’ve previously mentioned, I’ve actually met Tanya Burr on the book tour for the baking book this recipe is from (Tanya Bakes), and this book is honestly amazing with so many delicious and unique recipes, so I’d definitely recommend buying it! And it’s currently half price (only £8.49) on Amazon here: Amazon.co.uk/Tanyabakes

Anyways, I’ve baked a few recipes from Tanya Bakes, but I thought I’d share this with you as it’s a recipe most people’ll like and my go to cookie recipe. I’m going to stop rambling, so here is the recipe:

Makes 10                                                           Prep time: 15 minutes                               Cooking time: 12 minutes

Ingredients:                                                                200g white chocolate                                  200g milk chocolate                                     200g unsalted butter, softened                300g caster sugar                                               1 large egg                                                              325g self-raising flour

Method:                                                         Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F/GM4. Line two baking trays with greaseproof paper.

Using a knife, cut all the chocolate into small chunks and set aside.

In a bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the egg and beat until smooth.

Gradually add the flour until well combined, then add the chocolate chunks.

Divide into 10 balls and squash them down gently onto the baking trays. Remember that they’ll spread in the oven, so be sure to leave plenty of space between each cookie.

Bake for 12 minutes. They’ll still be very gooey, but don’t worry – they’ll set as they cool down. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Tanya’s recommends using two cookies and vanilla ice cream to create ice-cream cookie sandwiches; which I’ve personally never tried but sounds amazing!

To do this, spread some ice cream onto one cold cookie, then place another cold cookie directly on top.

I’ve made these cookies a few times in the past year (they’re also in Tanya’s first book – Love Tanya)  and I couldn’t recommend them enough! Although it says it makes 10 cookies, it depends on the size you want them; as if you make 10 then they’ll be big (which I’ve got no problem with!). I definitely think you could get at least 15 regular sized cookies if you want, but it’s completely up to your personal preference. They are quick & easy, and turn out soft which is good as I hate it when cookies are rock hard.

Once again, I wanted to say that this isn’t my recipe at all and all credit goes to Tanya, but I had to share it as they are so good! I hope you liked reading this & enjoy baking them!

BYE

Xxx

Leave a Reply

